Sign In Forgot Password

Explorations of Contemporary Halakhic Challenges with R Ysoscher Katz, second semester

Upcoming Sessions

1. Wednesday, May 19, 2021 8 Sivan 5781

8:00 PM - 9:00 PMOnline

2. Wednesday, May 26, 2021 15 Sivan 5781

8:00 PM - 9:00 PMOnline

3. Wednesday, June 2, 2021 22 Sivan 5781

8:00 PM - 9:00 PMOnline

4. Wednesday, June 9, 2021 29 Sivan 5781

8:00 PM - 9:00 PMOnline

5. Wednesday, June 16, 2021 6 Tammuz 5781

8:00 PM - 9:00 PMOnline

6. Wednesday, June 23, 2021 13 Tammuz 5781

8:00 PM - 9:00 PMOnline

7. Wednesday, June 30, 2021 20 Tammuz 5781

8:00 PM - 9:00 PMOnline
Past Sessions
Wednesday, May 12, 2021 1 Sivan 5781 - 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM - Online
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 23 Iyyar 5781 - 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM - Online
Wednesday, April 28, 2021 16 Iyyar 5781 - 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM - Online
Wednesday, April 21, 2021 9 Iyyar 5781 - 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM - Online

Darkhei Noam is excited to kick off the second semester of Explorations of Contemporary Halakhic Challenges, taught by Rabbi Ysoscher Katz. 

This semester the class invites members to become active participants in an ongoing workshop dealing with the halakhic questions raised by transgender issues. The issues are multifaceted and will be examined from a variety of angles.

R. Katz’s classes offer a unique opportunity to reflect on where halakha is today, where it will be tomorrow, and how we can join to actively shape its future trajectory. Delving into this complex topic will help us reflect on how to continue building a halakhic community that is both inclusive, participative and forward-looking. 

By joining this shared study, each member can express their voice on questions that sit at the heart of the project of progressive Orthodoxy and help create a robust conversation between halakha and modernity.

Classes will meet on Zoom every Wednesday from 8-9 pm, starting April 21. 

To join: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87611548675?pwd=TzJqZ0MzZFl3QTR0ZDBJRFhnZzdNZz09
Meeting ID: 876 1154 8675     Passcode: 105852

The classes are open to anyone interested and are free of charge. Classes will be cumulative, but each class will nevertheless be a distinct and independent unit. Join us for the entire semester or whenever you are able to do so.

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Sat, May 15 2021 4 Sivan 5781